ACTION ALERT:

SPEAK UP FOR A GREEN AND JUST RECOVERY IN THE FEDERAL BUDGET

March 12, 2021 – CELA joins environmental groups across Canada in One Earth One Voice – a campaign to urge the federal government to prioritize a Green and Just Recovery. We have a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to rebuild a just society that is better for our health, the economy, and nature. Decision-makers in Ottawa are deciding how to allocate billions of tax dollars on pandemic recovery.
The next federal budget must eliminate the injustices of vulnerable communities being disproportionately impacted by both the social and economic consequences of the pandemic and by pollution, climate change, and resource extraction.

To shape the Canada that we want to see, we are asking the federal government to make critical investment decisions that:

  • End fossil fuels subsidies and shift spending to a Green and Just Recovery
  • Deliver strong climate legislation, ambitious climate targets, and policies that enable climate justice
  • Protect 25% of land and ocean by 2025 and support Indigenous-led conservation
  • Expand and leverage nature-based climate solutions

The situation for our planet is urgent. The federal government needs to deliver on its promise of building a Canada that is equitable, green, healthy, and innovative. These promises require sufficient funds invested in the right initiatives, with clear deadlines and accountability.  Now is the time to make youre voice heard.
An immediate first step should be investment in an office of environmental health equity to assess these impacts and champion the integration of environmental health equity across the federal government.

Send a letter now to your elected officials to let them know that you demand a Green and Just Recovery.

Read CELA’s letter to Minister Freeland here

WRITE TO YOUR MP

 

MPs have a responsibility to advocate for their constituents and our communities. Send an email asking them to support a Green and Just Recovery in the Federal Budget.                   

Find your MP here.

SHARE ON SOCIAL MEDIA

 

Find your MP’s social media handles and follow them on TwitterFacebookInstagram or LinkedIn. If they don’t provide their handles here, search their names on social media. When they post something related to the federal budget, you can ask questions about their commitment to the environment in the comment section or as a reply. 

#YourBudget

#greenandjustrecovery

#canpoli

#budget2021

Reach out to key decision makers on Twitter or send an email now to have your voice heard! 

Federal Government

Contact the Prime Minister, the Finance Minister and the Minister of Environment and Climate Change

Finance: Hon. Chrystia Freeland 
Chrystia.Freeland@parl.gc.ca
@cafreeland @financeCanada @DeputyPMCanada
Prime Minister: Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau
justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca
@JustinTrudeau @CanadianPM
Environment Minister: Hon. Jonathan Wilkinson
Jonathan.Wilkinson@parl.gc.ca
@JonathanWNV

Conservative Party of Canada

Contact Opposition party leader and critics

Leader: Erin O’Toole
Erin.OToole@parl.gc.ca @erinotoole
Finance Critic: Ed Fast
ed.fast@parl.gc.ca @HonEdFast
Environment Critic: Dan Albas
 Dan.Albas@parl.gc.ca @DanAlbas
COVID-19 Economic Recovery: James Cumming
James.Cumming@parl.gc.ca  

Bloc Quebecois

Contact party leader and critics

Leader: Yves-François Blanchet
Yves-Francois.Blanchet@parl.gc.ca
@yfblanchet
Finance Critic:  Gabriel Ste-Marie:
gabriel.ste-marie@parl.gc.ca
Environment Critic: Kristina Michaud: kristina.michaud@parl.gc.ca

New Democratic Party

Contact party leader and critics

Leader: Jagmeet Singh 
Jagmeet.Singh@parl.gc.ca @theJagmeetSingh
Finance Critic:  Peter Julian: peter.julian@parl.gc.ca 
gabriel.ste-marie@parl.gc.ca
Environment Critic:  Alexandre Boulerice: Alexandre.Boulerice@parl.gc.ca

Green Party of Canada

Contact party leader and critics 

Leader: Annamie Paul annamie.paul@greenparty.ca 
@annamiePaul
COVID-19 Economic Recovery
Elizabeth May
Elizabeth.May@parl.gc.ca

Watch to learn more: